USINPAC Congratulates Indian American Members of Congress for winning California Primaries


Indian-American Congressmen Ami Bera and Ro Khanna won their respective primaries in California and will run for Congressional seats for the U.S. House of Representatives in elections to be held in November 2018. USINPAC has supported both candidates in the past and continues to extend support that is significant to the candidates and for the Indian American community.

Three-time Congressman Ami Bera from the 7th Congressional District of California received more than 51 percent of the votes in the open primary. His nearest rival, Andrew Grant from the Republican Party, received only 32.9 percent of the votes. “Dr. Ami Bera is humbled by the overwhelming support in his primary victory last night, and it is a testament to the real results he’s achieved for California’s 7th Congressional District,” his campaign manager said.

Congressman Khanna, who entered the U.S. House of Representatives for the first time in 2017, received an overwhelming 58.9 percent of the votes in the open primary for the 17th Congressional District of California. His nearest rival Ron Cohen from the Republican Party received 25 per cent of the votes.

In California, the top two candidates in a district irrespective of their party affiliation in the open primary head for the general elections.


Both Bera and Khanna, who represent different areas of Silicon Valley, are expected to win their House races in November. On behalf of the Indian American community, USINPAC congratulates Mr. Bera and Mr. Khanna on their victories in the primaries and looks forward to their wins in the 2018 midterm elections this November.

The three other Indian-Americans – Hirsh Singh, Goutam Jois, and Peter Jacob — who were running for the U.S. Congress from New Jersey lost their Congressional bids at the primary level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>